Tragic traffic in Jakarta

Destyan Prabowo

Offering all the luxury to be called as a world class metropolitan city, Jakarta soon becomes disoriented by lack of adequate masterplan, but the biggest problem of all seems to be its traffic.


As a typical developing city, just like other Southeast Asian capitals, Jakarta is ‘littered’ with millions of types of vehicles. Bicycles, motorcycles, bajaj, minibuses, buses, large buses or even trucks or containers can be seen everyday throughout the capital. All
of this machinery storms the streets of Jakarta 24 hours a day, as the popular saying goes, the city never sleeps…

As the streets become too crowded, everyone tends to get more aggressive just making their way a single meter ahead. This can be normally seen in a ‘common’ traffic jam during Jakarta’s rush hour. Highways don’t offer any relief either, as the traffic get stuck there too.


Some people are started to act barbaric as they transform as road monsters, blowing away their horn as if it was firing rounds at
enemies ahead, speeding up just to take a few metres of empty spot, hard to giving another vehicle just to be on front of them, or act
speeding up instead of slowing down as they watch people trying to cross the ‘zebra’ zone.

While sedans, SUVs and MPVs were ‘limited’ through it’s size, motorcycle became popular by taking advantage of it’s small size. The two wheelers can slip away easily through the column, saving their time, whilst whizzing through the deadlock of traffic jam.


Although a bigger size vehicle is theoretically ‘limited’ on their movement, this logic certainly won’t work when regarding a minibus.
Mostly operated by a private sector, one of the red bus company called ‘metro-mini’ is become identical with unethical transportation, as
it moves around, taking all the opportunities to pass another vehicle ahead despite any regulations or safety precautions. Honking your horn doesn’t work too well either, as it seems that everyone is doing so all the time. 


Sadly, the passerby also lost it right because of the high tense of the traffic. Despite already given an advantage of being small in
size, motorcycle riders tend to ‘ask more’ by ‘jumping’ the sidewalk, which is pedestrian’s haven and making it as their shortcut. This
unethical behaviour was once considered as a ‘try on’, but later became a rude one as they dare to blow up their horn on pedestrian
to make a way which absolutely isn’t their right under the law. 


Vehicles are somehow looked alike being the top priority of the city development. This can be seen from the new road that keep cutting more place for pedestrian or green environment less in every inch. Away from the downtown, pedestrian looks like will not be prioritized as
the sidewalk suddenly ‘gone’.

The ‘hell’ traffic is said to be the government priority. Once, the local authority introducing a new transportation system, which is offering it’s separated busway corridor. The well-sized air conditioned bus later become the sims’s favorite as it offer a secured, comfortable, fast mode of transportation around the hectic megapolitan. The buses which’ re called as Trans Jakarta soon become the new icon of Jakarta public transportation next to the commuter train.

A better transportation seems already been the citizen long last dream, as it soon attracting more commuter from the very beginning of
it’s services. Another day gone by as another line of passenger last longer just to get aboard the imported bus. While the road is already
jamming by numerous vehicles trying to make their way, inside the bus shelter, passengers also had their own ‘jam’ just to get aboard,
before facing the primary ‘show’ of traffic jam as they managed to get inside.

Indeed, Jakarta is already transformed into a complete city when it comes to terms with giving all the modern lifestyles a spot. But, the
instant rapid development of the once ‘old Batavia’ is leaving a lot of drawbacks, by letting the quality of public services far behind, including transportation. 


This catastrophic actually did bring something unique. Lots of facial expression can be witnesses, as if they’re representing the ‘face of
the city’ Jakarta itself.

14 responses to “Tragic traffic in Jakarta”

  1. Rosaura says :

    I am truly thankful to the holder of this web page who has shared this impressive article at at this place.

  2. Www.youtube.com says :

    You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation however I in finding
    this topic to be actually one thing which I believe I
    might by no means understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very huge for me.
    I am having a look ahead on your subsequent submit,
    I’ll try to get the hold of it!

  3. the law firm for family law says :

    Hi! I’ve been following your blog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

  4. jetpack joyride unlimited money says :

    Need to say until this part of these games, online games
    a stiff competition among different companies, one image
    could be on our modest first Nintendo consoles. Actually the DirectX 10 is like the Training, Minor, Major, Moon Star will allow the gamers are
    not installed any security programs or any other thing and are a few minutes?

    The following are the instant source of entertainment which
    is proving jetpack joyride hack popular in Spain and Nortel, recently investing
    heavily in 3.

  5. microsoft.com says :

    Outdoor training should be on you during the
    training session when you puppy training train the dog for any cues.
    The dog may learn all they need to demonstrate. By this I mean it is.

    The final straw came when called, dog training tips for pet owners.
    Give your dog a fearful or actually injure
    them. The first thing that involves him and would they perform this
    behavior is impossible, they act. It is that you puppy training
    would have the dog finds that it can be retrained.

  6. Jeanett says :

    To learn the required health certificate signed by a trainer will incorporate a treat and while I dog training wait in line.

    It is best whenever included in to their ability
    for logical reasoning, making an aura associated with the dog’s instincts.
    There must be proportional into the habit is formed at the
    same and if someone else dog training has an even more horrific story.

  7. best tough phone says :

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.|
    I couldn’t resist commenting. Well written!|
    I’ll right away take hold of your rss feed as I can’t to find
    your email subscription link or newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please permit me know in order that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.|
    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s
    time to be happy. I have read this post and if
    I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring
    to this article. I want to read more things about it!|
    It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the future and it’s
    time to be happy. I’ve learn this publish and if I could I want to counsel you some attention-grabbing things or advice.
    Perhaps you can write next articles relating to this article.

    I wish to read even more things approximately it!|
    I have been surfing online more than 3 hours lately, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth sufficient for me.
    In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers
    made excellent content as you probably did, the web can be a lot more
    helpful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue regarding this post at this
    place at this weblog, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.|
    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet users, its really really nice paragraph on building
    up new website.|
    Wow, this post is fastidious, my younger sister
    is analyzing these kinds of things, thus I am going to convey her.|
    Saved as a favorite, I like your website!|
    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article and also the
    rest of the site is extremely good.|
    Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I will come back yet again since i have bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich
    and continue to help others.|
    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of
    this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult
    to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a very good job with this.
    Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Opera. Exceptional Blog!|
    These are in fact fantastic ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some good things here. Any way keep up wrinting.|
    I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the superb works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.|
    Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check
    it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Outstanding blog and brilliant style and design.|
    I love what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to
    blogroll.|
    Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most
    blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to
    ask!|
    Hey there would you mind letting me know which web
    host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3
    completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog
    loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a
    good web hosting provider at a fair price? Thanks, I appreciate
    it!|
    Everyone loves it when people come together and share views.
    Great website, keep it up!|
    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?|
    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem
    to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if
    this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue
    fixed soon. Cheers|
    This is a topic that is near to my heart…
    Many thanks! Where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very simple to find out any topic on web as compared to books, as I
    found this article at this web site.|
    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a
    tough time locating it but, I’d like to send
    you an e-mail. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.|
    Hey there! I’ve been reading your web site for a while now
    and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout
    out from Atascocita Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic work!|
    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so
    I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch
    break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good blog!|
    Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to understand so much about this, like you wrote the guide
    in it or something. I think that you can do with some % to power
    the message house a little bit, however instead of that, that is
    fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.|
    I visited various web sites but the audio feature for
    audio songs existing at this web page is genuinely excellent.|
    Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a
    lot of spam responses? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything
    you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy
    so any support is very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post! It’s the little changes that make the most significant changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!|
    I absolutely love your blog.. Very nice colors
    & theme. Did you build this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create
    my very own blog and would like to find out where you got this from or exactly what the
    theme is named. Appreciate it!|
    Howdy! This article could not be written any better!
    Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I am going to send this article
    to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have
    a good read. Many thanks for sharing!|
    Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s on a entirely different subject but it has pretty much the same
    page layout and design. Great choice of colors!|
    There’s certainly a lot to know about this subject. I love all of the points you have
    made.|
    You have made some really good points there. I looked on the web to find out more
    about the issue and found most individuals will go along
    with your views on this web site.|
    Hi there, I check your blog daily. Your humoristic style is awesome,
    keep up the good work!|
    I just could not depart your website before suggesting that I
    actually loved the standard information a person provide on your guests?
    Is gonna be back ceaselessly in order to
    check up on new posts|
    I wanted to thank you for this good read!! I absolutely loved every bit of it.
    I have got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…|
    What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I liked this post.
    It was funny. Keep on posting!|
    I drop a leave a response each time I especially enjoy a post on a website or if I have something
    to contribute to the conversation. Usually it is caused by the fire displayed in the article I read.
    And on this post Tragic traffic in Jakarta |. I was moved enough to post a thought 🙂
    I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it simply me or does it appear like a few of the responses look as if they are coming from brain dead individuals?

    😛 And, if you are writing at other places, I’d like
    to follow everything fresh you have to post. Could you list the complete urls of all your
    public pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?|
    Hi there, I enjoy reading all of your post. I wanted to write
    a little comment to support you.|
    I always spent my half an hour to read this blog’s posts daily along with a cup of coffee.|
    I every time emailed this blog post page to all my associates, as if
    like to read it then my contacts will too.|
    My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various websites for about a year and am anxious about
    switching to another platform. I have heard good things about
    blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer
    all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!|
    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after browsing through
    a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely pleased I found
    it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!|
    Wonderful work! This is the type of information that should be shared around
    the web. Shame on Google for not positioning this submit higher!
    Come on over and seek advice from my site . Thanks =)|
    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me
    out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.|
    Hello, I think your web site might be having web browser
    compatibility problems. Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening
    in Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Apart from that, excellent site!|
    A person essentially assist to make significantly posts I
    might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and so far?
    I surprised with the research you made to make
    this particular submit amazing. Great activity!|
    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful
    & it helped me out a lot. I hope to present something back and help others such as
    you aided me.|
    Hi! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs
    up for your great information you’ve got right here on this
    post. I’ll be returning to your blog for more soon.|
    I every time used to study piece of writing in news papers but now
    as I am a user of internet therefore from now I am using net for
    content, thanks to web.|
    Your means of telling everything in this piece of writing
    is in fact pleasant, every one can easily be aware of it,
    Thanks a lot.|
    Hello there, I found your website by way of Google even as looking for
    a comparable topic, your website got here up, it seems
    good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just turned into aware of your weblog thru Google, and found
    that it’s truly informative. I am going to be
    careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you continue this in future.
    Many other folks might be benefited from your
    writing. Cheers!|
    I am curious to find out what blog system
    you happen to be working with? I’m having some small security problems with my latest website and I would like to find something more secure.
    Do you have any suggestions?|
    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and
    also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you
    modify it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this
    one today.|
    I am really impressed with your writing talents and also with the layout for your blog.
    Is that this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way stay up the
    nice quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great blog like
    this one today..|
    Hello, Neat post. There is an issue together with your site in internet explorer,
    could check this? IE still is the marketplace leader and a big element of other people will omit your great
    writing due to this problem.|
    I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this information for my mission.|
    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things
    to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use {some of|a
    \

  8. foundation garment says :

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Finding the time and actual effort to
    make a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate
    a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  9. My Aircraft Appraiser says :

    I like it whenever people come together and share thoughts.
    Greast site, continue the good work!

  10. https://www.facebook.com/BubbleWitchSaga2HackCheats says :

    Galaxyman, hero of Galactic Quest comic shop, where I get all
    of my comic needs taken care of, chose the following as this week’s hottest books for
    the week of November 10, 2010:. Style isn’t only for females this year,
    with plenty of funky ways for men to include style on their wardrobe and Arnette have
    launched the chunky framed Arnette Heavy Hitter in Ice Blue for a
    lot of ultra cool summer styling. The study was published inside recent issue of British Journal Of Psychiatry.

  11. Mutants Genetic Gladiators Hack Facebook says :

    So a way to plant your feet more firmly in the globe of magic fashion. For now here
    are the releases for the first half of the month.
    Moreover, its an improved strategy to entice an opponent player by discarding those cards that confirms low point value melds.

  12. family Scrophulariaceae says :

    Hi there! I just wish to give you a big thumbs up for the excellent info
    you have right here on this post. I am returning to your website for more soon.

  13. google plus application says :

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful info specifically the last part :
    ) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain info
    for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

  14. efi says :

    reading this article is like having a slap on my face. I was a motorcyclist in Jakarta. As the writer said, motorcylist has the benefit to fill in the gap, I did that. Being a motorcyclist in Jakarta gave me a moral lesson, such as “there is always a way no matter how stuck the traffic is”.

Share your thoughts on this article

